Monday, September 8, 2014

Genesis Revisited: Three Sides Live Set For Reissue On DVD & Blu-ray; Mike + The Mechanics To Celebrate Living Years 25th Anniversary With Reissue & Tour

Eagle Rock Entertainment will reissue Genesis 1982 live release Three Sides Live on DVD and Blu-ray on November 4th. “Turn It On Again,” “Misunderstanding,” “No Reply At All,” “Abacab,” “Man On The Corner,” are featured on this set.

Three Sides Live was filmed in November 1981 on the “Abacab” tour in North America and was originally released on VHS to coincide with the live album of the same name. It has only been released on DVD in the limited edition box set The Movie Box 1981-2007.

Originally filmed in 16mm, the footage has now been fully restored and is being reissued as a standalone DVD and Blu-ray for the first time. The show focuses on tracks from the Duke and Abacab albums and the tracks are intercut with behind-the-scenes footage and interviews with the band members.

The line-up on Three Sides Live features Tony Banks (keyboards, backing vocals); Phil Collins (drums, lead vocals); Mike Rutherford (guitar, bass, backing vocals) with Daryl Stuermer (guitar, bass) and Chester Thompson (drums).

Track Listing

1. Behind The Lines
2. Duchess
3. Misunderstanding
4. Dodo / Lurker
5. Abacab
6. No Reply At All
7. Who Dunnit?
8. Medley: In The Cage / The Cinema Show  / The Colony Of Slippermen
9. Afterglow
10. Me & Sarah Jane
11. Man On The Corner
12. Turn It On Again

Meanwhile, Mike Rutherford's other band, Mike + The Mechanics, will be hit the road to celebrate the 25th anniversary The Living Years. The group kicks off a North American tour in Virginia on February 26, 2015. This will mark the first North American trek the band has made since their tour supporting the initial release of Living Years in 1989. Rhino will release a Deluxe Edition of Living Years on February 10.

Formed in 1985 by Rutherford, Mike + The Mechanics has recorded seven studio albums and enjoyed a series of hit songs with "Silent Running (On Dangerous Ground)," "All I Need Is A Miracle," "Word Of Mouth," and "Over My Shoulder." However, the #1 smash "The Living Years" from 1989 would become the largest hit of the band's career.

For the upcoming tour, Rutherford will lead the current incarnation of Mike + The Mechanics, which includes vocalists Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar, keyboardist Luke Juby, guitarist/bassist Anthony Drennan, and drummer Gary Wallis.

For the shows, the band will perform all of its best-known songs, as well as a selection of Genesis favorites like "I Can't Dance" and "Turn It On Again."

The 18-date tour will conclude on March 21 in Chicago.

Along with the original studio album, the two-CD reissue of Living Years will feature a bonus disc of live recordings from the 1989 Living Years UK tour along with the song "The Living Years 2014" which has been re-recorded with the South African Isango Choir and Andrew Roachford on lead vocals.

Track Listing

Disc 1
1. Nobody's Perfect
2. The Living Years
3. Seeing Is Believing
4. Nobody Knows
5. Poor Boy Down
6. Blame
7. Don't
8. Black & Blue
9. Beautiful Day
10. Why Me?

Disc 2
1. The Living Years 2014
2. Nobody Knows (Live)
3. Seeing Is Believing (Live)
4. Don't (Live)
5. Black & Blue (Live)
6. Silent Running (Live)
7. Par Avion (Live)
8. Take The Reins (Live)
9. Nobody's Perfect (Live)
10. A Call To Arms (Live)
11. Beautiful Day (Live)
12. Hanging By A Thread (Live)