Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Pink Floyd Sets New Release Date for ‘The Endless River’

Pink Floyd's new album will arrive on November 10.

A Monday news release gives fresh details about The Endless River, the British rock group's first new material in 20 years. Earlier this year, Coumbia Records announced the set would get an October release.

The 18-song double-album features band members David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright, who died in 2008. Roger Waters left the group in 1985 and isn't involved.

The album was assembled from 20 hours of material recorded during the band's 1993 sessions for The Division Bell.

Gilmour says in the release that the band "added new parts, rerecorded others and generally harnessed studio technology to make a 21st-century Pink Floyd album."

The Endless River features mostly of instrumental music with just one song, "Louder Than Words," that includes new lyrics, written by Gilmour's wife, Polly Samson.

News of a new Pink Floyd album hit the Internet in July when Samson mysteriously tweeted that a fresh album was on the way, calling it Wright’s “swansong and very beautiful.”

Mason confirms the album is "a tribute to Rick."  In the latest statement, he says: "I think this record is a good way of recognizing a lot of what he does and how his playing was at the heart of the Pink Floyd sound.  Listening back to the sessions, it really brought home to me what a special player he was.”

The Endless River Track Listing:

Side 1
"Things Left Unsaid"
"It’s What We Do"
"Ebb And Flow"

Side 2

Side 3
"The Lost Art of Conversation"
"On Noodle Street"
"Night Light"
"Allons-y (1)"                        
"Allons-y (2)"                      
"Talkin’ Hawkin’"

Side 4
"Eyes To Pearls"
"Louder Than Words"