Wednesday, October 14, 2015

'Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years Of Grateful Dead' Shows On CD, DVD & Blu-Ray Coming Next Month

The "core four" original members of the Grateful Dead - Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh, and Bob Weir - took the stage at Chicago's Soldier Field in July for their final performances together, playing to over 200,000 fans over three nights along with thousands more watching on pay-per-view and in theaters around the world. For those fans that want to revisit the magic of these show, or those looking to experience it for the first time, Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years Of Grateful Dead will be available November 20 from Rhino/Grateful Dead in a variety of audio and video formats. 

Fare Thee Well occurred over three nights on July 3, 4, and 5, 2015, and found the Grateful Dead "core four," joined by Trey Anastasio (guitar), Jeff Chimenti (keyboards), and Bruce Hornsby (piano), taking the Soldier Field stage nearly 20 years to the day of the last ever Grateful Dead concert with Jerry Garcia, which took place at the same historic venue. Each night featured the group performing two sets of music, along with an intermission featuring newly-composed instrumental music by Circles Around The Sun (Neal Casal, Dan Horne, Mark Levy, and Adam MacDougall)., the official Grateful Dead website, is the only place fans can get complete audio and video for all three shows. The two exclusive versions, one 12-CD/7-Blu-ray and the other 12-CD/7-DVD, will each be limited to 20,000 individually numbered copies. The versions will also feature an exclusive bonus disc featuring two-and-a-half hours of behind-the-scenes material captured by Justin Kreutzmann. Included on the disc will be footage from the Grateful Dead ticketing office documenting the 350,000 plus tickets requests received for the shows, vignettes from the parking lot scene in Chicago, and backstage looks at the shows themselves. The versions will also feature the intermission music for all three shows from Circles Around The Sun, giving fans access to every single note heard at Soldier Field during those historic nights.

Fare Thee Well - Exclusive Complete Versions
Track Listing

Disc One
1.     "Box Of Rain"
2.    "Jack Straw"
3.    "Bertha"
4.    "Passenger"
5.    "The Wheel>"
6.    "Crazy Fingers"
7.    "The Music Never Stopped"

Disc Three
1.     "New Potato Caboose>"
2.    "Playing In The Band>"
3.    "Jam>"
4.    "Let It Grow>"
5.    "Help On The Way>"
6.    "Slipknot!>"
7.    "Franklin's Tower"
8.    "Ripple"

Disc Two
1.     "Mason's Children"
2.    "Scarlet Begonias>"
3.    "Fire On The Mountain>"
4.    "Drums>"
5.    "Space>"

Disc Four
Intermission Music by
Circles Around The Sun
1.    "Space Wheel"
2.    "Mountains Of The Moon"
3.    "Praying For The Band"
4.    "Tripple"
5.    "Deal Breaker"
6.    "Deadometer"
7.    "Borrow From A Friend"
8.    "Grimes Surf Story"

Disc Five
1.     "Shakedown Street"
2.    "Liberty"
3.    "Standing On The Moon"
4.    "Me And My Uncle"
5.    "Tennessee Jed"
6.    "Cumberland Blues"
7.    "Little Red Rooster"
8.    "Friend Of The Devil"
9.    "Deal"

Disc Six
1.     "Bird Song"
2.    "The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion"
3.    "Lost Sailor>"
4.    "Saint Of Circumstance>"
5.    "West L.A. Fadeaway"

Disc Seven
1.     "Foolish Heart>"
2.    "Drums>"
3.    "Space>"
4.    "Stella Blue>"
5.    "One More Saturday Night"
6.    "U.S. Blues"

Disc Eight
Intermission Music by
Circles Around The Sun
1.    "Hallucinate A Solution"
2.    "Ginger Says"
3.    "Saturday's Children"
4.    "Eartha"
5.    "Split Pea Shell"

Disc Nine
1.     "China Cat Sunflower>"
2.    "I Know You Rider"
3.    "Estimated Prophet"
4.    "Built To Last"
5.    "Samson And Delilah"
6.    "Mountains Of The Moon>"
7.    "Throwing Stones"

Disc Ten
1.     "Truckin'"
2.    "Cassidy"
3.    "Althea"
4.    "Terrapin Station>"
5.    "Drums>"

Disc Eleven
1.     "Space>"
2.    "Unbroken Chain>"
3.    "Days Between>"
4.    "Not Fade Away"
5.    "Touch Of Grey"
6.    "Attics Of My Life"

Disc Twelve
Intermission Music by
Circles Around The Sun
1.    "Gilbert's Groove"
2.    "Farewell Franklins"
3.    "Hat And Cane"
4.    "Never Too Late"
5.    "Scarlotta's Magnolias" Complete Versions Will Also Feature Full Video On Blu-ray Or DVD Along With Exclusive Bonus Disc Of Backstage Footage From Justin Kreutzmann

The Best Of Fare Thee Well - Soldier Field, Chicago, IL 7/3-4-5/15
Track Listing

Disc One
1.    "Box Of Rain"
2.    "Shakedown Street"
3.    "China Cat Sunflower"
4.    "I Know You Rider"
5.    "Bertha"
6.    "West L.A. Fadeaway"
7.    "Cumberland Blues"
8.    "Althea"
9.    "The Music Never Stopped"

Disc Two
1.    "Truckin'"
2.    "Scarlet Begonias>"
3.    "Fire On The Mountain"
4.    "Drums"
5.    "Not Fade Away"
6.    "Touch Of Grey"
7.    "Attics Of My Life"