Monday, December 11, 2017

Jethro Tull's 'Heavy Horses' Gets Expanded Steven Wilson Makeover For 2018

In 2018, Jethro Tull will celebrate its 50th anniversary. To kick off the anniversary year, a 40th anniversary 'New Shoes Edition' of 1978's Heavy Horses has been prepped and boxed up as a triple CD, double DVD set to be released by Parlophone Records. This edition will feature the original album, plus additional studio recordings, live material and an extensive new booklet.

Heavy Horses: New Shoes Edition will include:

- Three CDs and two DVDs of studio and live recordings
- An extensive note about the writing, recording and touring of the album
- Track-by-track annotation by Ian Anderson
- Lyrics for the album and bonus tracks
- Interviews with musicians Maddy Prior, Darryl Way, and studio engineer, Colin Leggett
- A recording and touring chronology from January 1977 to November 1978

Released between Songs From The Wood (1977) and Stormwatch (1979), Heavy Horses was the second in a trilogy of folk rock albums from Jethro Tull. Lead singer, songwriter and flautist Ian Anderson explained its particular focus on horses and agricultural life saying, "as a child, my big passion was to get off the leash and explore the local wooded and leafy suburbs. So it didn't suddenly become new in 1977, it was just that the subject matter fitted what I wanted to write about at the time."

Upon release, Heavy Horses was a Top 20 album on both sides of the Atlantic. Commercial success was met equally with critical praise for its melodies, instrumentation and Anderson's signature flute playing.

This anniversary edition features the original album with nine additional bonus tracks, seven of which are previously unreleased. Heavy Horses: New Shoes Edition also contains a live concert from May 1978, and two DVDs which feature the original, bonus, and live tracks all mixed to surround sound by Steven Wilson and Jakko Jakszyk. A 96-page booklet covers a history of the album and corresponding tour, complete lyrics, rare photos and exclusive interviews.

Heavy Horses: New Shoes Edition

Track Listing:

CD 1 [A Steven Wilson Stereo Remix]
1. ...And The Mouse Police Never Sleeps
2. Acres Wild
3. No Lullaby
4. Moths
5. Journeyman
6. Rover
7. One Brown Mouse
8. Heavy Horses
9. Weathercock

Associated Recordings:
10. Living In These Hard Times (Version Two)*
11. Everything In Our Lives*
12. Jack A Lynn* (Early Version)
13. Quatrain* (Studio Version)
14. Horse-Hoeing Husbandry*
15. Beltane
16. Botanic Man*
17. Living In These Hard Times (Version One)
18. Botanic Man Theme*
* Previously unreleased material

CD 2: Live In Concert In Berne, Switzerland, May 1978 - Part One
[A Jacko Jakszyk Stereo Remix]
1. Opening Music (Quartet)
2. Introduction by Claude Nobs
3. No Lullaby
4. Sweet Dream
5. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
6. Jack In The Green
7. One Brown Mouse
8. Heavy Horses
9. A New Day Yesterday
10. Flute Solo Improvisation / God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen / Bouree
11. Living In The Past / A New Day Yesterday (Reprise)
12. Songs From The Wood

CD 3: Live In Concert In Berne, Switzerland, May 1978 - Part Two
1. Thick As A Brick
2. Hunting Girl
3. Too Old To Rock 'n' Roll
4. Conundrum
5. Minstrel In The Gallery
6. Cross Eyed Mary
7. Quatrain
8. Aqualung
9. Locomotive Breath
10. Dambusters March / Aqualung (Reprise)

DVD 1 [Audio/Video]
Heavy Horses full album plus the additional:
- Living In These Hard Times (Versions 1 & 2)
- Everything In Our Lives
- Jack-A-Lynn
- Horse-Hoeing Husbandry
- Beltane
- Botanic Man & Botanic Man
- Quatrain (Stereo Only)

Mixed 5.1 DTS & DD surround sound and 96/24 LPCM stereo.

DVD 2 [Audio]
Jethro Tull recorded live to 24 tracks at The Festhalle, Berne, Switzerland by The Maison Rouge Mobile mixed to 5.1 DTS & DD surround sound and 48/24 LPCM stereo
Promotional video footage for the tracks "Heavy Horses" & "Moths". and two period TV ads